Review: Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

Kafka on the ShoreOkay, this is my first book of Haruki Murakami. So please don’t hit me.

When they mention famous artists, characters actually introduce and explain why they like or loathe the person. There are some books that leave you hanging after they mention an influential person that you don’t know about, and I hate that. This particular book takes time and filters the right words to say in order for the reader to understand the relevance or importance of the person.

The characters are lovely. (It’s the settings a bit off) When you’re reading, you’ll have this feeling that you’re inside the head of the character. Which is nice, since you’re given an accurate view of the character (Well most of the time)

Let me just point out how mind-fucking this book is. There are instances that you’re like “oh, now I get it” and then you continue reading and then be like “fuck.”

When I was reading, I felt like I had to pretend like I know what’s happening. And keep on acting like I know where the story’s going but really I don’t. It’s hard to pin-point what’s happening because even the character doesn’t know what’s happening and where the hell he is (Usually the part where I get pissed)

I’m not saying that the book’s not good. It’s just not my cup of tea. It felt vague. Like there were a lot of unanswered questions even towards the end of the book.

Actual Rating: ✰✰✰

Do I like it: Not that much. (Mind you, this is not my first literature read)

Recommended: To people who have the time and effort to understand the uncertainty

(Fullybooked, Paperback, P 638)

Leave a Reply

