Review: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

WonderFinally, a book that lives up to its title!

Simple. It doesn’t need highfalutin words to give validity to the essence of the story. It also helps because it’s set in a child’s POV, so it makes everything a lot less complicated and straightforward. (And obviously, because of the genre it is in)

Different POVs. I wasn’t actually expecting different POV’s from other characters however it was interesting to see their own story and what they have to say. It’s nice to see how the story progresses and translates to different characters. Judging a character is inevitable, I know. But this book gave (almost) everyone a chance to speak up and defend themselves. Also having different POV allowed the reader to see characters in different lighting.

Compelling. The plot is just gorgeous. I haven’t seen books that talk about deformity as subtle and heavy as this one. I like the fact that not everything was centered in Augustus’ facial deformity. I wasn’t expecting this to have an impact on me, but I’d be lying if I said it didn’t. It was just amazing how R. J. Palacio put something sensitive (facial deformity) and translates it into an innocent child’s POV. It was compelling because you wouldn’t expect a child to go around with facial deformity and say it’s okay.

However, I was really hoping to read Augustus parents POV especially his mom. Throughout the story she was the one that felt very quite and distant, it left me wondering why and what lead her to be that way. That’s the only thing that bugs me.

Actual Rating: ✰✰✰✰

Do I like it: Yes!

Recommended: To people who haven’t read this

(Fullybooked, Hard Cover, P 555)

Leave a Reply

