Top Ten Tuesday: Classic Reads

Here are my top ten classic reads!

Btw, I won’t be posting the blurb or the synopsis of each book since that’s what goodreads are for. If you are curious to see what it’s about, then just click the (image of the) book you’re interested in and it’ll send you straight to goodreads.

To Kill A Mocking Bird by Harper Lee (Read)

If you want something that talks about racism in a different light then I think this is for you. (But you know, I could be wrong) Just by looking the plot, I didn’t expect this to be anything special. But boy was I wrong! Btw, dibs on Jem! (That sounds so pedo)

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (Unread)

I am just sooo pumped up to read this! If you love books that talks about books then join the bandwagon with me! It has something to do with a guy and his job is to burn books, which is of course insane, but sounds interesting enough. Books + Burn = It just has my blog name written all over it.

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell (Unread)

Okay I actually never read a classic that focused more on romance but this one sounds good, plus it’s historical fiction! If you love historical fiction and romance, then I guess you’ve read this already. And if yes, then please share your courage and effort to start and finish this endless-like (because it’s so thick) book. If not, then we can read it together! (Just send me a message!)

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie, Michael Hague (Unread)

I have a confession.. I know I’m too old for this but. Peter Pan is my all-time, ultimate, absolute, total crush!! There I said it. I know “how could I be totally head over heels for something I haven’t read yet.” The thing is I’m just in love with the idea of him. Okay, TMI. But really, someday I’ll have time to read this even if my TBR screams no. I will have time. I’ll find time. Better yet, I’ll create time only for this book. But seriously, who wouldn’t want to read about a boy who would never grow old? 

East of Eden by John Steinbeck (Unread)

I’ve been searching for this one for so long, but seems like the odds are not in my favor. It has something to do with Adam and Eve as well as Cain and Abell. That just sounds so interesting! I love it when books incorporate certain stories from the bible (except Da Vinci Code) since it gives it more depth and texture to the story.

Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut (Unread)

Wow, they actually said that there’s no character. Well that’s a change. Science Fiction is not my favorite genre, but this sounds interesting enough (based on reviews and recommendations) Besides, why not try it? At least you’ll have bragging rights!

Unbearable Lightness of Being (Read)

Very very very interesting concept of life decisions or choices. How they are capable of manipulating us into the person we are now. I have a full review for this one, here.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (Unread)

Fun Fact: Did you know that the first title of this books was “Ten Little Niggers” as if that wasn’t bad enough they changed it again to “Ten Little Indians”? And finally, And Then There Was None? They had to change the blunt title because back then (with that title) sales were low since people didn’t buy books with title as frank as that. (Imagine having to go over the counter and pay for it) The story has the same concept with “Ten Little Indians” like one by one they die/disappear and then there was none! (Duh?)

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, Craig Raine (Unread)

Uhm. I’m going to let the book cover do the talking.

Pride and the Prejudice by Jane Austen (Unread)

Well this can’t be a classic read without the presence of Jane Austen. The classic (literally) love story that we all repeatedly fall for.

 

(Hosted by: The Broke and the Bookish)

(Pictures are not mine except the banner)

Leave a Reply

