Review: Daytripper by Fábio Moon, Gabriel Bá, Craig Thompson (Introduction), Dave Stewart (Colours), Sean Konot (Lettering)

DaytripperThis is my first graphic novel read. I know, crazy.

Art. The illustrations are beautiful. I believe they wanted to imitate the texture and the finish of a watercolor. Since it has the capability to look soft and dreamy, it gave the story an illusion appearance, which elevated the book’s quality. I actually would’ve bought this for the art alone.

Idea. Apparently, this talks about life in a very creative way. As if every day a new life should be lived. Clearly, they wanted to show how important life is, how short it is and how it shouldn’t be taken for granted. I genuinely like the concept, but the execution was a bit off, for me anyway.

I get it. Life is short, cherish what you can; death is just around the corner. But people already know this, they’ve memorized this and they’re sick of it. I’m sick of it. What I wanted to know is WHY. What’s the point in living if you’re going to die anyway? I want to know why life is worth living. I want answers. I want reasons.

And the thing is every chapter was no different from the other. They had the same theme, same view, same characters, and definitely same ending. It’s hard to continue reading if you already know where it’s headed. Plus the character was soo dramatic. He’s exaggerating too much. He moans a lot like “… nothing in my life is extraordinary. Nothing in my life really matters.” See what I mean? Annoying.

This story had a lot of potential, really. Beautiful idea, beautiful artwork.. but the story? the essence behind it? lacked the passion, I was looking for. So towards the end, I was just looking forward to see the artworks.

Here are few illustrations from the book. (You’re welcome)

Rating: ✰✰✰

Do I like it: Uhm, it’s okay.

Recommended to: To people who want to prove me wrong

(Fullybooked, Tall/Large Copy, P 809)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Below are information about this book.

Publication: February 8th 2011 by Vertigo (DC Comics)

From Goodreads:

What are the most important days of your life?

Meet Brás de Oliva Domingos. The miracle child of a world-famous Brazilian writer, Brás spends his days penning other people’s obituaries and his nights dreaming of becoming a successful author himself—writing the end of other people’s stories, while his own has barely begun.

But on the day that life begins, would he even notice? Does it start at 21 when he meets the girl of his dreams? Or at 11, when he has his first kiss? Is it later in his life when his first son is born? Or earlier when he might have found his voice as a writer?

Each day in Brás’s life is like a page from a book. Each one reveals the people and things who have made him who he is: his mother and father, his child and his best friend, his first love and the love of his life. And like all great stories, each day has a twist he’ll never see coming…

In Daytripper, the Eisner Award-winning twin brothers Fábio Moon and Gabriel Bá tell a magical, mysterious and moving story about life itself—a hauntingly lyrical journey that uses the quiet moments to ask the big questions.

Leave a Reply

