Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books for Fall

Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read List

Besides the fact that we don’t experience fall or autumn season, I’m still going to do this feature for my personal pleasure–and yours too. I hope you don’t mind. And btw, I already have all the books in this TBR. So if you’re eyeing something out, feel free to comment or message me regarding the price and/or bookstore.

*For more information about the book, click the (image of the) book or the title.

And so it begins!

S. by J.J. Abrams

This is kind of an impulse buy. I have to admit with the kind of TBR I have, it’s kind of unreasonable to buy another one, but this so unique that I just can’t pass it up. It a step-up to your conventional or traditional books. This one takes interactivity to a whole new level.

I‘ll Be Right There by Kyung-sook Shin, 신경숙

I have a thing for literary fiction.. Plus the rating (in Goodreads) is so damn high, and I wanted to see if it’s true or not. It should be because it was expensive.

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra

Historical fiction, who would’ve guess? And also this is set in Russia, so it’s a breath of fresh air from American countries–not that I’m against it. A lot of books that are set in Russia have something to do with World War 2, but I don’t think this one tackles it specifically.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

I actually watched the movie first, the anime version. I believed it was produced by Toshio Suzuki, animated by Studio Ghibli. I’ve watched and hoarded a lot of films by Studio Ghibli. My favorite among the bunch is Ponyo! Anyway, because of how good it is, I just had to read it–even if it’s against my rules to watch a movie THEN read the book.

The Martian by Andy Weir

I’ve been putting this one aside. I don’t know, I haven’t had luck when it comes to science fiction. Although this one claims to be funny, so it might appeal to me more than the standard science fiction. And the plot is interesting enough–if being stranded alone in Mars is your kind of thing.

Rosie’s Project by Graeme Simsion

Romance, I have a love and hate relationship with this genre. Although, I think this book is right up my alley since it’s nerdy, sweet and (the main thing) it doesn’t start with an affair. Which I think, a lot of romance novels are unfortunately known for.

The Child Thief  by Broom

Hah, again with Peter Pan. Lets proceed before my emotions take over.. This is a deconstruction or a re-telling of (my boyfriend) Peter Pan. And I think this one is supposed to be a horror? But I’m not sure. In this book, Peter Pan is considered as a child thief–just in case you didn’t get the title. (Well you can steal me all you want)

The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell

“They said the typewriter would unsex us.” Sold.

The Complete Maus (Maus, #1-2)  by Art Spiegelman 

Did you know I had to order this off at Fully Booked (since it’s sold out) and had to wait for two months just to get my hands on it–that’s real (book) love right there. This is a memoir but in a graphic novel format. World War 2, Maus = Jews and Cats = Germans, which is the perfect analogy. That pretty much sums up what it’s about. But for whatever reason, it’s always included in Top *insert adjective* Graphic Novel list.

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill 

Hah, I know I can be such a chicken when we talk about horror. So it’s totally logical for me to pick this one up. I believe this was released around Christmas since the plot revolves around that season. And boy is it coming. I’ve been wanting to read at least one Joe Hill.. And everything scares the shit out of me. I opted this one since it’s the LEAST frightening. But I could be wrong..

(Hosted by: The Broke and the Bookish)

(Pictures are not mine)

Leave a Reply

