Review: Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Night Film

GO HOME NIGHT FILM, YOU’RE DRUNK

If you’re planning to read this, you’re pretty much fucked.The fact that this book didn’t warn me about its contents, which btw includes devil worship and witchcraft, is plain evil and just mean. If they placed Stephen King on the cover, then I would’ve known what I was dealing with. I can’t just guess what’s the book is about. I can read the blurb but it isn’t even close to the actual plot. So yeah, I was fucked.

I’m a Catholic, which makes things ten times scarier because we believe in these things—like the devil, not what they worship. And this had me putting holy water everywhere—on the book, on the couch, on myself, practically just anywhere and anyone who touches the book. And let’s not talk about how many Cleansing Prayers I prayed. I believe in God, and I know how powerful and mighty He his. But damn.

And that doesn’t explain my rating. Not even close.

NightFilmMeme

This book is messed up. MESSED UP. I’ve never read a book like it (and no, it’s not like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn). Not to mention how thick this thing is (644 pages, single space, size 8), I could use this for warfare. I bet if Kim Jong-un knew this weapon existed, Night Film will literally fall from the sky and wipe out an entire race.

How can you just twist a plot, I don’t know, like three times? Is that even legal? One plot twist is enough, but three is just wrong. As a reader, trust plays an important role, whether or not to trust certain characters and/or even the author. But my trust was violated so much, that by the end I felt like a prostitute (no pun intended), who’s been fucked for so long, and I don’t even get paid.

I would’ve liked it better if the characters actually had personalities. But they don’t, which made this even harder to read. As if a professional detective, who’s been working alone for certain reasons for number of years, would think that it’s okay to let a male drug addict and a homeless, whinny woman—they’re more of a liability, a burden, than anything else–join his case. Plus every single person magically reveals details, out of the blue, sometimes without someone asking. And whatever hits their way, they just go on as if it’s something they encounter everyday. As if devil worship is something you buy from Mcdo.

But what I did like is the graphic content included—felt like they dedicated more time there than the story itself. It’s the first crime novel I’ve read that gives a more concrete interactivity between the story and the reader. I praise it for its uniqueness, how it was able to provide an “actual” copy of notes, articles and reports that in return, makes it more real and believable. Unfortunately, the list doesn’t go on.

LogoColored-01LogoColored-01LogoBlack-01LogoBlack-01LogoBlack-01

Do I like it: I tried to

Recommended to: To people who like getting high

(Fully Booked, Large Copy, P 460)

(Graphics made by me)


Below are information about this book.

Publication: Published July 1st 2014 by Random House Trade Paperbacks (first published 2013)

From Goodreads:

Everybody has a Cordova story. Cult horror director Stanislas Cordova hasn’t been seen in public since 1977. To his fans he is an engima. To journalist Scott McGrath he is the enemy. To Ashley he was a father.

On a damp October night the body of young, beautiful Ashley Cordova is found in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Her suicide appears to be the latest tragedy to hit a severely cursed dynasty.

For McGrath, another death connected to the legendary director seems more than a coincidence. Driven by revenge, curiosity and a need for the truth, he finds himself pulled into a hypnotic, disorientating world, where almost everyone seems afraid.

The last time McGrath got close to exposing Cordova, he lost his marriage and his career. This time he could lose his grip on reality.

ONCE WE FACE OUR DEEPEST FEARS, WHAT LIES ON THE OTHER SIDE?

4 thoughts on “Review: Night Film by Marisha Pessl

  1. You’re reaction to this was awesome. As soon as I read “Go home, You’re drunk” I laughed out loud. 🙂 I haven’t read this one, and after reading this i’m not sure if I want to. – Maria

  2. Is it weird that I want to read this now? But then I like reading disturbing things…haha.

    Your review was so fun to read, and even if this book turns out to be bad, I think I might just read it for the lolz. XD

Leave a Reply

