Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My Life Next Door

Typical.

Samantha, a white girl, thinks she’s so “normal,” and I quote, “..blond hair, blue eyes, freckles, nothing special” Damn right you are! You keep on talking like that and you’ll be every other girl in the neighbourhood. You’re a rich girl. I’m sure we can find and buy you something special. So stop fucking moaning.

I guess having no boyfriend, so unlike every other teenager, is such an issue. Well, give me a phone and I’ll go call United Nations to issue a violation on human rights. If not having a boyfriend is such a big thing, then go and buy one. So keep smiling.

She falls in love with the ideal boyfriend: white + hot + green eyes + brown with blonde streaks, sounds like Troy Bolton straight from High School Musical. Thing is whatever he does, Samantha gets turned on immediately. The guy can literally take a shit in front on her and she won’t mind.

I’m not really complaining since the cover is already a fair warning. Look at him. For a teenager, he looks like a saint—wearing long sleeves polo and black pants, looking as if he’s going to attend Sunday mass.

I know I’m such an ass. But try to read it and tell me it’s not shallow. I’m not even going to tell what it’s all about because there’s nothing worthy to tell. This book is so long and it’s unnecessary. Who want’s to read about a whinny girl complaining about how difficult life is when she has a roof over her head. Somebody stop me.

Writing is fine, typical, as I said. Not horrible, but again, nothing new.

LogoColored-01LogoColored-01LogoBlack-01LogoBlack-01LogoBlack-01

Do I like it: No

Recommended to: To anyone who’s looking for a stereotypical relationship

(Fully Booked, Paperback, P 399)


Below are information about this book.

Publication: June 14th 2012 by Dial Books For Young Readers

From Goodreads:

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

9 thoughts on “Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

