Book Blogger Hop: Audio Books

I thought I needed a break from all the reviews I’ve been posting. I have two already, so if you’re interested click here. Enough rambling, and let’s get to business!

This week’s question is:

Do you listen to audio books?

Uhm, no. And there are two reasons why I don’t listen to audio books:

1.) Availability

Living in the Philippines, we don’t get that much access to books–much more audio books. We only have about three major bookstore, which is National Bookstore, Fully Booked and Powerbooks. And these bookstores usually prioritize mainly on New York Times Best Sellers and Young Adult. So I find it very difficult to look for unpopular Adult books, since they don’t stock that much. Out of the three, I find that Fully Booked has the most number of Adult books available. Hence I buy most of my books there (and also because I have a discount card, I need all the discount I can get)

Don’t get me wrong, we do have audio books. It’s just that most of them are popular. So chances are if you’re looking for a unpopular book in audio format, most probably we don’t have it. But you can order from Fully Booked. I’ve tried it before, but it takes two months, MONTHS, and they still add additional charges for the shipping fee and unicorn stuff. It’s just a hassle.

2.) Book Collection

As you already have noticed, I collect books. Just a background information: I’m 19 years old and I’m in college. And I’ve been collecting books roughly around the age of 13, high school years, pre-K12 era. So now, I have about 250 books at hand and as of the moment, I have no plans to stop. Unless I get bankrupt.. People have no idea how expensive books are, it’s ridiculous!

I’ve tried listening to one before. And I can say that it’s nice, it’s a whole different experience compared to reading. Although, the experience relies heavily on the narrator. Depending on the way or manner the story is told, it can break or make the story.

But with all that said, I feel like my heart has always been in love with actual, physical books. The effort of bringing a hardcover. The coffee/tea stains. The dog-ear folding at the edge of the page. The mini heart attack you get, when you forget to put a bookmark on. The smell.

I could listen to audio books. But I can never imagine, giving it all up for a physical copy.

How about you? Do you listen to audio books? Which one do you like best? Do you have any good audio book recommendations? I would love to know! ❤

(Hosted by: Ramblings of A Coffee Addicted Writer)

(Sources: Pic 1, Pic2)

Leave a Reply

